State > Elections

Active suffrage as well as the passive one is granted to citizens at the age of 18.

Deputies of the State Council (Parliament) are elected for a five-year term on the basis of general equal and direct suffrage by secret ballot. RT State Council consists of 100 deputies, half of them are elected through single mandate electoral districts, half through republican electoral district's lists after being proposed by electoral association or block. The last RT State Council elections took place on March 1, 2009.

Elections to municipal districts self-government bodies were held on October, 10, 2010 in the Republic of Tatarstan.